One Man’s Opinion … The Need to Be Appreciated

Image result for appreciation quotes

 

One of the things that I continue to learn about myself is how much I need to feel appreciated for what I do , what I am and who I am, both at work and in my personal life. I don’t mean in a needy kind of way that is wimpy but in a way that when situations arrives you see how people treat you shows whether or not they appreciate you.

If you go to your boss looking for a raise and promotion and you get the silent treatment it is telling, or if your boss has to arm twist others just to get them to see value in what you do, what does that really say …a lack of appreciation.

In the case of your job you have a choice either deal with it or plan your next move to put yourself in a environment that will appreciate your skills and allow you to grow professionally. (Meaning get another job)

What about family situations that should bring you together yet you keep feeling like you are the one out of the loop repeatedly? Knowing how I am now even at this point in life I tend to withdraw from them and stay angry. It’s counterproductive for a number reasons 1- They may  not even realize that they are not treating you fairly so speak to them and give them a fair chance to correct the situation.

2-What you feel you bring as value to the relationship may not be what they see as  well and need time to see it from your point of view.

3-Sadly it might be that your worse fears are realized that they simply don’t care , so at that point the choice is up to you to build your life around those that appreciate you and the value you bring to the relationship and focus more on those and less especially if it is family(which is harder to do) but may be necessary for your inner peace.

These are just a few reasons, you may have more or I may think of more as time goes by , but one thing I do realize is that the older I get the more I realize where I need to be isn’t always what everyone else sees or values it is up to me to make the needed adjustments. But there is nothing wrong with those close to me to know how I feel and that it will be up to them to choose to respect and accept how I feel or disregard it. Either way it will say a lot about the level of appreciation for some who feels the need to be appreciated.

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. This is a really important…everyone needs to feel appreciated in a relationship. This is what gives them security, I guess.

    I’d love to have your views on this: https://rinsebeforeuse.com/2016/12/15/creating-a-monster-the-dangers-of-trying-to-change-your-partner/

    1. Thank you for your comment it makes me feel appreciated lol

Leave a Reply

