They’re too Short for work go home ….

I’m not sure about you dear reader but my employer sent out a memo back in the spring about shorts and what shorts would be acceptable and not acceptable to wear to work during the summer months and in fact this far above the knee was dubbed unacceptable. If there was any question see Human Resources. I have to think this is standard at most places especially when you work in retail. So how did this young girl think any different? Obviously she didn’t get the memo. She even made the classic mistake of posting the following on twitter

“Boss sent me home for wearing ‘too revealing’ shorts that I bought from the store I work at in the career section,” Sylva Stoel tweeted on Friday. She included a photo of herself in a pair of red shorts that hit at about mid-thigh.

If you are told to do something like go home and change maybe it’s not a good idea to tweet about it…just saying.

“I told [my manager] that I thought it was unfair to send me home due to the fact that I had purchased the shorts from JC Penney’s own career section, but he insisted that I go home and change anyways.” Stoel, 17, told The Huffington Post in an email.

She said she quit the job, and is glad her experience is starting conversations about how women are treated in the workplace.

I think she is mistaking about her experience and I have a feeling she is going to do this again. She needs to understand the dress code of her employee first and make sure she reasonably is within the guidelines of what is and what is not acceptable in this case shorts to work…

What do you think reader? Is she correct in her thinking ?

“Unfair dress codes affect millions of women, and it’s time to speak out against them,” she said

2 responses

  1. I don’t think this is really anything to do with women’s rights really. If you choose to work for an employer and get paid by the company you sign a contract agreeing to certain rules, and whether you like it or not when you work for them you have to live by their rules. If they don’t want you wearing short shorts you can’t and if the want you dressed up as a walrus you have to, if its what you agreed too. If you want true freedom on what to wear, then be your own boss and deal with the stresses of that.

    1. Fair point most employers like I said often send out a memo of what is acceptable in this case if she was going to the beach that’s fine but for work ….no it’s not just use common sense

Leave a Reply

